Play Everyday

365…ok 366 days of simple, inexpensive and wildly fun 2-year-old play!

Stovetop Playdough

on January 17, 2012

I was in the craft room sewing as Noah ate his breakfast in the kitchen. Either I was deep into my stitching or Noah was particularly stealthy, but next thing I knew he was rummaging in the big craft closet like a kid on Christmas morning. Yes, the big craft closet with the big childproof cover on the door knob.
His most exciting find this morning was a bucket full of cookie cutters, dough presses, a small rolling pin and plastic knives. “Playdough!” he exclaimed joyfully. I hesitated, knowing we didn’t have any left. “Playdough, please?” he amended. After that there was only one thing I could say, “Let’s go to the kitchen and make some”.  We have made this recipe before but if you want to check out different ones go to PlaydoughRecipe.com.  We halved the following recipe:

  • 2 c flour
  • 2 T cooking oil
  • 1 t cream of tartar
  • 2 c water
  • 1 c salt
  • food coloring

Mix food color and water first for even distribution, or add in after flour or while on stovetop for marbled distribution.  We did all our mixing at Noah level.  He was ready to do some cooking, as always!  Today he learned how to use the chopstick I keep in the flour bin to level off the top of the measuring cup.

      

Lately his favorite color has been yellow so I wasn’t surprised that’s what he wanted for his play dough.  The way he says “yellow” is very similar to the way he says “Noah”.  I kind of think that’s why he likes it so much.

We added the salt and stirred everything up!

    

Mama took over from here as everything needed to be moved to the stovetop to be cooked.  I would say I was cooking for about .8 seconds before I turned back around to see that Noah was also “cooking”.  And by “cooking” I mean frantically sweeping salt and flour under the table.  But that’s why we have vacuums.

Here’s a play by play of dough as it moves from liquid to solid…

Set it out on a plate to cool and it’s ready to go!  I love this activity because you get to play while making it, then play while playing with it.

    

Leave a Reply

